Flux (2020) – 12-track album

Flux presents 12 eclectic instrumental pieces that have evolved into a more electronic distillation of my musical influences of afrobeat, art pop, desert blues, electronica, krautrock, minimalism and world music. The music has emerged gradually between 1999 and 2019, having been recorded, reimagined and transformed in such global localities as London, Thessaloniki, Matera, Berlin, Barcelona, Tokyo, Cotonou, Fez, Saarbrücken and Helsinki.

Flux refers to the dynamic process that is this world, life: the diversity and multiplicity of its narratives and possibilities; the constant change and fusion; the uncertainties, ambiguities and in-betweens; the colours, textures and forms; the borderless rhythms, terrains and movements; the complex and relative nature of things; the potential they sustain.

The musical artists whose aesthetics have influenced me most on this album include Art of Noise, Fela Kuti, Aphex Twin, Kraftwerk, Brian Eno, Ali Farka Touré, Björk, Steve Reich, Prince, Pan Sonic and the Penguin Café Orchestra.

A digital-only album, the Bandcamp release features extended album artwork in addition to higher quality audio download. The album is also available on all the other major music download and streaming services worldwide.

All tracks written, performed and mixed by Ilpo Jauhiainen

Original guitar on Cascade and bass guitar on Earth Flux – Moritz Cartheuser
Original Ginette on Cascade – Petteri Mäkiniemi

Produced by Ilpo Jauhiainen

Mastered by Gregor Zemljic at Earresistible Mastering

Cover art and design by Ilpo Jauhiainen

Released June 12, 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s